Cowley Cowboys

The Cowley Cowboys formed in 2009 and are based in the Worcestershire and Herefordshire area.

The band members are:

  • Pete Unwin – Vocals / Guitar / Harmonica
  • Clive Kennard –Guitar / Vocals
  • Becky Davies- drums
  • Paul Atterbury – Bass


The Cowley Cowboys call their music “Briticana” – influenced by Americana but set within an English context. They describe their main influences as Johnny Cash, Ryan Adams, The Gourds, Dwight Yoakam, Steve Earle and Junior Brown.

Their self-titled debut album was released in 2009 and was followed in 2013 by their second release “Sons of Rest”.

The album contains eleven self-penned songs which cross the country spectrum of heartache and hope.

Featuring “The Twins of Twang” on dual lead guitars, the album can make you dance, cry, weep, moan or holler.

Spotlight UK Artist interview

The band are now working on their third album to be entitled ‘ Briticana’ which will incorporate a Tex-Mex flavour.

The band put on a show wherever they play, keeping the party or festival going with a mixture of standards and original material. The band is now looking to play bigger festivals and venues nationwide after their four years together.